NOVAC will hold its next monthly general membership meeting Sunday January 14, at 7:00 PM in Room #163 in Research Hall on the campus of George Mason University. Our speaker will be Br. Guy Consolmagno SJ, whom many of you know as coauthor of Turn Left at Orion. NOVAC’s general meeting is open to the club membership and the general public. No RSVP is necessary, so please come if you can!

What you may not know is that Brother Guy is Director of the Vatican Observatory and President of the Vatican Observatory Foundation. A native of Detroit, Michigan, he earned undergraduate and masters’ degrees from MIT, and a Ph. D. in Planetary Science from the University of Arizona. He was researcher at Harvard and MIT, served in the US Peace Corps (Kenya), and taught university physics, before entering the Jesuits in 1989.

At the Vatican Observatory since 1993, his research explores connections between meteorites, asteroids, and the evolution of small solar system bodies, measuring meteorite physical properties in Castel Gandolfo and observing distant asteroids with the Vatican’s telescope in Arizona. Along with more than 200 scientific publications, he is the author of six popular books including Turn Left at Orion (with Dan Davis), and Would You Baptize an Extraterrestial? (with Paul Mueller).

Dr. Consolmagno has served as chair of the American Astronomical Society Division for Planetary Sciences (DPS) and president of the IAU Commission on Planets and Satellites; the IAU has named asteroid 4597 Consolmagno in his honor. In 2014 he received the Carl Sagan Medal from the DPS for excellence in public communication in planetary sciences.

If you are available, please join our pre-meeting dinner at Red Hot and Blue, 4150 Chain Bridge Rd, Fairfax, which will take place at our regular time of 5:30 PM.

Finally, the club’s Board of Directors will meet at 4:00pm in the same room to hold the annual NOVAC corporation meeting as required by our articles of incorporation. Club members are welcome to attend.

See you in January!
Chris Kagy, President-Elect